California Collaborative on District Reform Members

Kent Bechler
Executive Coach and Consultant
Pivot Learning Partners

George Bohrnstedt
Senior Vice President for Research Emeritus
American Institutes for Research

Jim Brown
Pivot Learning Partners

Richard Carranza
San Francisco Unified School District

Cynthia Coburn
Associate Professor of Education
University of California, Berkeley

Susanna Cooper
Principal Consultant
State Senator Darrell Steinberg

John Deasy
Los Angeles Unified School District

Ken Doane
Program Director, Education
S. H. Cowell Foundation

Patricia Gándara
Professor of Education and Co-director of the Civil Rights Project/El Proyecto de CRP
University of California, Los Angeles

Amy Gerstein
Executive Director
John W. Gardner Center for Youth and Their Communities

Kenji Hakuta
Lee L. Jacks Professor of Education
Stanford University

Mike Hanson
Fresno Unified School District

Matt Hill
Chief Strategy Officer
Los Angeles Unified School District

Holly Jacobson
Center for the Future of Teaching and Learning at WestEd

Joseph Johnson
Executive Director, National Center for Urban School Transformation Professor of Education
San Diego State University

Marc Johnson
Sanger Unified School District

Derry and Charlene Kabcenell
Dirk & Charlene Kabcenell Foundation

Kristi Kimball
Executive Director

Charles and Helen Schwab Foundation

Michael Kirst
President, California State Board of Education
Professor Emeritus of Education, Stanford University

Vince Matthews
San Jose Unified School District

Maggie Mejia
Former Superintendent
Sacramento City Unified School District

Thelma Melendez de Santa Ana
Santa Ana Unified School District

Rick Miller
Senior Partner, California Education Partners
Partner, Capitol Impact LLC

Ellen Moir
Chief Executive Officer
New Teacher Center

Jennifer O’Day
Chair, California Collaborative on District Reform
Managing Research Scientist
American Institutes for Research

Rose Owens-West
Region IX Equity Assistance
Center at WestEd

Christy Pichel
Stuart Foundation

Arun Ramanathan
Executive Director
The Education Trust-West

Jonathan Raymond
Sacramento City Unified School District

Jorge Ruiz de Velasco
Director, Education Law and Policy
Earl Warren Institute on Law and Social Policy

Laura Schwalm
Garden Grove Unified School District

Warren Simmons
Executive Director
Annenberg Institute for School Reform at Brown University

Marshall “Mike” Smith
Visiting Scholar
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Tony Smith
Oakland Unified School District

Brad Stam
Vice President
ConnectEd: California Center for College and Career  

Christopher Steinhauser
Long Beach Unified School District

Joan Talbert
Senior Research Scholar and Co-Director of the Center for Research on the Context of Teaching
Stanford University

Dale Vigil
Los Angeles Unified School District, Local District 4

Aída Walqui
Director, Teacher Professional Development Program